Call Menu

Dwi

What Should I Do If I Am Charged With A DWI And There Is A Motor Vehicle Accident?

As serious as a charge of misdemeanor driving while intoxicated (DWI) pursuant to New York Vehicle and Traffic Law (VTL) 1192.2 can be, the consequences can be even direr if there was a motor vehicle accident involved. Depending upon the extent of injuries, the charge can be elevated to criminally negligent homicide or manslaughter if Read on…

How Long Is Your Driver’s License Suspended For A DWI In New York?

Vehicle and Traffic Law (VTL) 1192 is the controlling statute on the subject of driving while intoxicated (DWI), driving while ability impaired (DWAI), or Driving While Impaired By Drugs (DUI). The different sections of the statute speak to the issue of driver suspension or revocation of their license (or driving privilege if out-of-state) and the Read on…

Can Nassau County Confiscate My Car If I Am Pulled Over for a DWI?

Pursuant to the Nassau County Administrative Code §8-7.0(g), the County of Nassau is empowered to commence a civil action to obtain civil forfeiture of property which is employed as the instrumentality of a misdemeanor crime or petty offense committed within the County. To the extent that motor vehicles are employed to commit Driving While Intoxicated Read on…

What Is A DWI Evaluation And Do I Need One If I Am Pulled Over For DWI On Long Island?

If you are pulled over and subsequently arrested for suspicion of Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) or Driving Under the Influence of Drugs (DUI) in New York, it is very possible you will need an alcohol assessment evaluation which is known as an OASAS evaluation. This report is required if the defendant is going to plead Read on…

Things That You Do Not Legally Have To Do If You Are Pulled Over For A DWI

When you are pulled over for suspicion of Driving While Intoxicated (DWI), there are some things you should remember that you are not legally required to do. With that said, you should be courteous to the law enforcement officer and not be belligerent or act in such a manner where you could put yourself in Read on…

What are the penalties for a second conviction of DWI/DUI in Nassau County or Suffolk County, NY?

If you are convicted of Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) or Driving Under the Influence of Drugs (DUI) for a second time within a period of 10 years, it is considered an E Felony. As a result, you face a maximum of four (4) years in prison, mandatory fines of up to $5,000 plus mandatory state Read on…

DWI/DUI/DWAI: What Is A Conditional License?

What is a conditional license? If your NYS driver’s license has been revoked or suspended because you are convicted for a DWI-related offense, the Department of Motor Vehicles may issue a “conditional license,” which gives you conditional driving privilege. The DMV will determine if you are eligible to attend an Impaired Driver Program or IDP, Read on…